Between politics, violence, and back to school commercials, I don’t even want to watch TV anymore.  However, my morning routine includes coffee and the news. I got my coffee, turned on the TV, and the first story I caught was on Q13 about doing one kind thing each day for the month of August.

kind

I decided this is something I can do!  So I made a list of 31 things that I think I can do in the month of August to make the world a little better for those around me.

  1. Donate school supplies
  2. Call someone and tell them you are thinking about them
  3. Bake something to share
  4. Let another go first
  5. Buy someone lunch
  6. Say hello and smile at a stranger
  7. Thank someone for their service
  8. Give a compliment
  9. Plant a flower or tree
  10. Pick up litter
  11. Donate canned goods
  12. Hold the door open for someone
  13. Put away stray shopping carts
  14. Give an unexpected gift
  15. Leave an inspiring quote in a popular place
  16. Donate to a cause you are passionate about
  17. Send a hilarious e-card
  18. Leave someone a thank you note
  19. Offer everyone in line a stick of gum
  20. Mail a card to an old friend
  21. Give someone a $5 grocery gift card
  22. Read to someone
  23. Leave someone a nice comment on Facebook
  24. Run an errand for someone
  25. Donate gently used items
  26. Drop off a book to someone who you think might like it.
  27. Make breakfast in bed for someone you love
  28. Offer to give a caretaker a break
  29. Leave a larger tip than you normally would
  30. Tell your parents you love them
  31. Hug someone you love like you mean itkind 3

 

Take the pledge to do one kind thing each day in August. If you missed yesterday, do two today. Follow us on Twitter #onekindthing and post your ideas here!  For more ideas check out my Pinterest board.

kind 4

 

